AAPI Victory Fund Endorses 16 Candidates Holding the House and Building a Stronger Progressive Majority in Congress

by | Oct 13, 2022 | Uncategorized

WASHINGTON — Today, AAPI Victory Fund announced its slate of endorsements for 16 progressive United States House of Representatives Democratic candidates, including 13 incumbents and 3 Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander challengers. 

As the fastest-growing racial or ethnic group in the U.S., the 24 million AANHPIs make up over 4% of our nation’s eligible electorate, a figure that shows a 10% increase in AANHPI voter turnout since the 2016 election. With the AANHPI eligible voters exceeding the margin of victory in numerous districts and states, we have an opportunity under a common agenda to bring AANHPI voters into position to make or break outcomes for candidates across the country. 

The AAPI Victory Fund is engaging and empowering AANHPI voters to be the margin of victory at all levels of the ballot, with goals to build sustained power behind a common progressive agenda; serve as an unprecedented vehicle for AANHPI influence; share knowledge of the AANHPI community; and mobilize our communities to vote. 

As a diverse and dynamic population, the surging AANHPI electorate is at the forefront of shaping a progressive new America and becoming a crucial election-determining community across our country. 

AAPI Victory Fund endorses the following progressive US House Incumbents for their respective races this November:

  • Ami Bera, CA-06
  • Doris Matsui, CA-07
  • Ro Khanna, CA-17
  • Judy Chu, CA-28
  • Ted Lieu, CA-36
  • Mark Takano, CA-39
  • David Trone, MD-06
  • Dina Titus, NV-01
  • Steven Horsford, NV-04
  • Grace Meng, NY-06
  • Pramila Jayapal, WA-07
  • Marilyn Strickland, WA-10
  • Elaine Luria, VA-02

AAPI Victory Fund endorses the following progressive AANHPI US House Candidates for their respective races this November:

  • Jill Tokuda, HI-02
  • Shri Thanedar, MI-13
  • Sandeep Srivastava, TX-03

AAPI Victory Fund President and CEO Brad Jenkins issued the following statement: 

“I am honored to lead the AAPI Victory Fund in announcing our endorsements of these progressive incumbent Representatives and candidates; 16 trailblazing changemakers with an unwavering commitment to the best interest of their respective constituents—especially that of our Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander community.

“It is crucial for our election-determining communities to elect strong and thoughtful leaders at all levels of government who embody the urgency of this moment and work tirelessly to create meaningful solutions. We are so excited to be endorsing these 16 talented Congressmembers  in their upcoming elections this November and look forward to standing by these Representatives who remain devoted to growing our progressive stronghold in the House.”

AAPI Victory Fund National Political Director Shehn Datta issued the following statement: 

“At AAPI Victory Fund, we are extremely proud to endorse these inspiring candidates who are AANHPI champions, many of them are AANHPI themselves, dedicated to fighting for economic justice, reproductive rights, gun violence prevention, and an end to all AANHPI hate and violence.

“As the fastest growing sector of the electorate, we have the opportunity of the marginal vote, deciding what our next Congressional representation will look like and what values our national legislative body will fight for. The power of our community cannot be overstated, we have to show up – we have to vote this November.

“We are incredibly excited to endorse a slate of such commendable Congressional candidates who remain committed to the needs and safety of not only the AANHPI community but all constituents alike. We look forward to watching these 16 extraordinary candidates step into their respective roles as Representatives and continue to build on our progressive majority in the House.” 


The AAPI Victory Fund is focused on mobilizing Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) eligible voters and moving them to the ballot box.