AAPI Victory Fund Endorses Four Incumbent Senators

by | Oct 19, 2022 | Uncategorized

Today, AAPI Victory Fund announced its slate of endorsements for four progressive incumbent U.S. Senators running for reelection in their respective states this November. The endorsements include Senators Alex Padilla of California, Tammy Duckworth of Illinois, Chris Van Hollen of Maryland and Patty Murray of Washington. 

More than 13.3 million Asian Americans are projected to be eligible voters in 2022, and as the nation’s fastest-growing demographic, this base could determine the balance of power in Congress in three short weeks. 

These four states in particular are ones in which the surging AANHPI electorate could have a significant impact: California, Illinois and Washington are among the top states where AANHPIs live, and Maryland is a state where the number of eligible AANHPI voters grew by more than 53% from 2010-2020.

AAPI Victory Fund President and CEO Brad Jenkins issued the following statement:

“It is my honor to lead the AAPI Victory Fund in announcing our endorsements of  Senators Alex Padilla, Tammy Duckworth, Chris Van Hollen, and Patty Murray—four dutiful incumbent Senators who each have demonstrated an unwavering commitment to the best interest of their constituents—including the large Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander populations they represent.

“Our communities have the opportunity to be the marginal vote this November in a lot of key races that will decide what our next Senate will look like and which values this national legislative body will proudly display.

“We have to elect strong and thoughtful leaders who embody the urgency of this moment and work tirelessly to create meaningful solutions—that’s what these Senators have proven time and time again in Washington. We are so excited to endorse these dedicated sitting members of Congress in their upcoming elections this November, as we remain devoted to expanding our Democratic stronghold in the Senate.”

AAPI Victory Fund National Political Director Shehn Datta issued the following statement:

“At AAPI Victory Fund, we are extremely proud to endorse these progressive champions who are dedicated to fighting for the issues AANHPI voters care about—economic justice, reproductive rights, gun violence prevention and an end to AANHPI-targeted hate and violence.

“Senators Alex Padilla, Tammy Duckworth, Chris Van Hollen and Patty Murray remain committed to the needs and safety of not only the AANHPI community but all constituents alike. We look forward to watching these four extraordinary incumbents step once more into their roles as Senators—with an even stronger majority.”


The AAPI Victory Fund is focused on mobilizing Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) eligible voters and moving them to the ballot box.